## MEETING SUMMARY OF THE HENDERSON COUNTY BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT MEETING May 30, 2018

The Henderson County Board of Adjustment held its regular meeting on May 30<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 p.m. in the King Street Meeting Room, 100 N. King Street, Hendersonville, North Carolina.

Board Members Present:
Ron Kauffman
Bill Fishburne
Hilliard Staton
Louise St.Romain
Jim Hysong, Alternate Member

<u>Staff Members Present:</u> Toby Linville, Zoning Administrator

<u>Call to Order / Introduction of the Board:</u> Chairman Kauffman called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

<u>Review and Approve April 25, 2018 Meeting Summary:</u> Hilliard Staton moved to approve the April minutes with second from Louise St.Romain. All members voted in favor.

<u>Order V-18-04 Simple Life RV Park</u> Hearing no comments from members the order was approved by acclamation. All members voted in favor.

<u>SUP-18-02 Lazy Otter Campground:</u> Chairman Kauffman read the script for a special use permit. He administered the oath to Toby Linville, Staff and Matt Evans, Applicant. Lisa Scimone asked to speak in opposition and was not sworn in. The meeting was called into open session upon motion by Hilliard Staton and second by Louise St.Romain. Toby Linville read the staff report into the record. Matt Evans described the use of the property to add up to 4 campsites to the existing outdoor recreational facility (canoe rental). Lisa Scimone spoke in opposition to the plan complaining of noise. The meeting was called out of open session upon motion by Hilliard Staton and second by Louise St.Romain. The board discussed size, noise and location. They recommended conditions including: limit 4 campsites, no electronic music and a 9:00pm quiet time. Jim Hysong moved to deny SUP-18-02 with second from Bill Fishburne. The members voted 2-3 for denial. Hilliard Staton then moved to approve SUP-18-02 with the aforementioned conditions. Louise St.Romain seconded the motion. The members voted 3-2 to approve.

<u>Adjournment:</u> Hilliard Staton made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 4:37 p.m.	
Ronald Kauffman, Chairman	Toby Linville, Zoning Administrator