

Henderson County TDA Board Meeting Minutes

June 28th, 2022 Henderson County Welcome Center 201 South Main Street Hendersonville, NC 28792

Call To Order, Welcome, and Approval of Consent Agenda Debi Smith, Chair

Chair Debi Smith called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm. Debi Smith pulled the minutes from the consent agenda. **Debi made a motion to change the adjournment motion to state motion was made by Richard Rhodes at 2:45pm. Seconded by Brittany Brady. Motion was approved**. Motion made by Mike Burnette to accept the consent agenda with the change to the minutes. Motion seconded by Brittany Brady. Motion approved unanimously.

Public Comment

Amit Govindji, owner of the Hampton Inn of Hendersonville and the Home 2 being built on Sugarloaf Road, thanked the board all the work that has and is being done in Hendersonville.

Discussion

Debi Smith congratulated Richard Rhodes as the appointed board chairman for FY2022-23. Debi made nominations for 1st chair and 2nd for the upcoming year. The nomination for 1st chair was Danielle McCall and 2nd chair nomination was Brittany Brady. Richard Rhodes seconded the nominations and board approved unanimously.

New Business

Debi introduced the new board members appointed to begin FY2022-23. The Town of Fletcher appointed Jeremy Weber, co-owner of Blue Ghost Brewing to take the seat held by Zach Horn. The Henderson County Board of Commissioners appointed Travis Bonnema, owner of Echo Mountain Inn to take the seat held by Debi Smith.

Presentation on the renovation of the Welcome Center was presented by Chad Roberson of ClarkNexsen and Vic Knight of Knight Strategies.

The board presented Debi Smith, Mike Burnette and Zach Horn with a plaque thanking each of them for their 5-year service to the Henderson County TDA board.

Richard Rhodes made the following motion: "In honor of the efforts of our outgoing Board Chair, I move that the Henderson County TDA establishes the 'Debi Smith Heart of Hospitality' Award, to be given annually to a Henderson County tourism champion – to someone who demonstrates the traits of selfless and tireless service to tourism in Henderson County that Debi Smith has exemplified without fail in her time on the front lines of hospitality, and in particular as chair of this board. I further move that we establish a committee this July to develop this award, and that it be given out at our tourism conference this February." Motion was seconded by Brittany Brady. Motion unanimously approved.

Adjournment

Motion made by Zach Horn to adjourn at 2:12pm. Seconded by Mike Burnette. Motion approved unanimously.

HCTDA Board Members In Attendance: Debi Smith, Chair Present Brittany Brady Present Steven Brown Present Mike Burnette Present Joe Dinan Present Selena Einwechter Absent Zach Horn Present Danielle McCall Present **Richard Rhodes**

Samantha Reynolds, Ex-Officio Finance Officer • Absent

Present