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When to Burn? 
 
The North Carolina Fire Prevention Code, Section 307 on Open Burning,  is a good place 
to start when deciding what and when to burn.  The catch phrase of the Division of Air 
Quality is: “If It Doesn’t Grow, Don’t Burn it”. They specifically ask homeowners not to 
burn garbage, paper, cardboard, rubber products, building materials, wire, plastics, 
shingles, paints, household and agricultural chemicals, buildings, mobile homes, and 
other structures.  Homeowners should also refrain from burning on Code Orange, Red, or 
Purple days; these are the worst days for ozone and air quality. Also be aware of burn 
bans during drought conditions.  
 
On the North Carolina Division of Forest Resources’ website, it is noted that illegal 
burning can incur a fine of up to $10,000. A permit or permission must be obtained for 
burning outside of allowable uses.  Fires recognized for silviculture or range or wildlife 
management practices, prevention and control of diseases or pests, or a bonfire must 
receive a permit.  Homeowners in Henderson County are allowed to burn yard trimmings 
if no public pickup is available.  Additionally, campfires, outdoor barbeques, and bonfires 
are allowable. As noted, however, bonfires require a permit.   Landowners can also burn 
vegetation to clear right-of-ways.  However, such burnings must occur between 8am and 
6pm and be 1,000 feet away from occupied buildings.  Prevailing winds must also be 
away from built up areas and roads. Setback waivers may be obtained on the Division of 
Forest Resources’ website.  
 
Open burnings must also be at least 50 feet away from any structures and provisions must 
be made to keep the fire from spreading within 50 feet of the structure.  Exceptions to this 
rule include fires in approved containers that are not less than 15 feet from a structure. 
However, even with the use of an approved container, when a pile reaches three feet, the 
distance from the structure must be 25 feet. Bonfires and recreation fires should also not 
be within 25 feet of a structure or combustible material unless it is in a barbeque bit.  
All fires must be attended until the fire is extinguished.  Fire extinguishers or other 
extinguishing equipment, such as water hoses or dirt, must be available to use quickly.   
 
Homeowners should also note that smoke from burning causes health effects.  Not only 
can burning trash cause lung and eye irritation, it can cause headaches, dizziness, asthma 
attacks, and coughing.  Additionally, trash can contain chemicals such as dioxins and 
other toxins.  These toxins can leach into the soil and be taken up by plants and enter 
streams, ponds, or groundwater.  Incomplete burnings can also leave behind remnants 
which could be eaten by smaller animals, causing illness and death.  
 
For more information on burning and fire prevention or to obtain a permit, please visit  
http://www.dfr.nc.gov/burn_permits/burn_standard.asp .  
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Alexis can be contacted at 694-6524 or by email at alexisbaker@hendersoncountync.org 


