Greenway Master Plan Committee Meeting Summary March 23, 2018

The Greenway Master Plan Committee met on March 23, 2018 at 9:00 AM in the King Street Meeting Room, located at 100 N. King Street, Hendersonville, NC. Present committee members included: Hunter Marks, Mike Egan, Milton Butterworth, Philip Ellis, Rebekah Robinson, Renee Kumor, Tricia King, Ken Shelton, Graham Fields, Suzanne Hale, Joe Sanders, and Chris Burns. Scott Rhodes, Linda Giltz, and Jennifer Hensley were absent.

County staff included Autumn Radcliff, Planning Director, John Mitchell, Business and Community Development Director, Carleen Dixon, Parks and Recreation Director, and Stedman Smith, Planner.

Mr. John Mitchell called the meeting to order.

Mr. Mitchell welcomed all in attendance and allowed everyone to go around and introduce themselves. Mr. Mitchell then gave a brief overview about why the committee was formed. The group then chose to nominate a chairperson. Hunter Marks made a motion to nominate Chris Burns. Ken Shelton provided a second, and the group voted unanimously to make Mr. Burns chair.

The committee then discussed a list of pertinent issues related to the creation of the Greenway Plan. Stedman Smith told the group that he would draft up a list of the issues, as well as some possible mission statements for the committee's review. Mr. Smith also told the group that he and staff would be sending some templates of existing Greenway Plans from comparable counties and municipalities for the group to review and gather ideas from.

Staff proposed that the group meet every two weeks. Staff would provide a tentative schedule for the group to review.

The next committee meeting was scheduled for Thursday, April 12 th at 9:00 AM.
The meeting adjourned at 9:58 AM.
Committee Chair - Chris Burns