County of HENDERSON



2022 PRIMARY

Election Date: 05/17/2022

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **HENDERSON** County on **05/17/2022**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m. on the day before Election Day**. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at <u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at <u>www.FVAP.gov</u>. A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (<u>absentee@ncsbe.gov</u>).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on militaryoverseas absentee voting.

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda HENDERSON BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/17/2022)

HENDERSON BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/17/2022)

	CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
US SENAT	E		
	JAMES CARR	James L. Carr, Jr.	DEM
	ROBERT COLON	Robert Colon	DEM
	ALYSSIA HAMMOND	Alyssia Rose-Katherine Hammond	DEM
	CONSTANCE JOHNSON	Constance (Lov) Johnson	DEM
	TOBIAS LAGRONE	Tobias LaGrone	DEM
	BRENDAN MAGINNIS	B. K. Maginnis	DEM
	EVERETTE NEWTON	Rett Newton	DEM
	MARCUS WILLIAMS	Marcus W. Williams	DEM
	GREGORY ANTOINE	Greg Antoine	DEM
	CHERI BEASLEY	Cheri Beasley	DEM
	PATRICE BOOKER	Chrelle Booker	DEM
	MARJORIE EASTMAN	Marjorie K. Eastman	REP
	DAVID FLAHERTY	David Flaherty	REP
	BENJAMIN GRIFFITHS	Benjamin E. Griffiths	REP
	KENNETH HARPER	Kenneth Harper, Jr.	REP
	PATRICK MCCRORY	Pat McCrory	REP
	CHARLES MOSS	Charles Kenneth Moss	REP
	LICHIA SIBHATU	Lichia Sibhatu	REP
	DEBORA TSHIOVO	Debora Tshiovo	REP
	BRADLEY WALKER	Mark Walker	REP
	JENNIFER BANWART	Jen Banwart	REP
	LEE BRIAN	Ms. Lee A. Brian	REP
	LEONARD BRYANT	Leonard L. Bryant	REP
	THEODORE BUDD	Ted Budd	REP
	ANDREW BULECZA	Drew Bulecza	REP
S HOUSE	OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR	ICT	
1			
	JAN CAREY	Jay Carey	DEM
	KATHERINE DEAN	Katie Dean	DEM
	MARCOS GUTIERREZ	Marco Gutierrez	DEM
	ROBERTO HESS	Bo Hess	DEM
	BYNUM LUNSFORD	Bynum M. Lunsford	DEM
	JASMINE BEACH-FERRARA	Jasmine Beach-Ferrara	DEM
	DAVID CAWTHORN	Madison Cawthorn	REP
	CHARLES EDWARDS	Chuck Edwards	REP
	RODNEY HONEYCUTT	Rod Honeycutt	REP
	WENDY NEVAREZ	Wendy Marie-Limbaugh Nevarez	REP
	BRUCE O'CONNELL	Bruce O'Connell	REP
	KRISTIE SLUDER	Kristie Sluder	REP
	MICHELE WOODHOUSE	Michele V. Woodhouse	REP
		Matthew Burril	REP

NC SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE SEAT 05

HENDERSON BOARD OF ELECTIONS (05/17/2022)

CANDIDATE NAME	NAME ON BALLOT	PARTY
APRIL WOOD	April C. Wood	REP
CURTIS ALLEN	Trey Allen	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT 09		
ELIZABETH FRESHWATER SMI	TH Beth Freshwater Smith	REP
DONNA STROUD	Donna Stroud	REP
NC COURT OF APPEALS JUDGE SEAT 11		
MICHAEL STADING	Michael J. Stading	REP
CHARLTON ALLEN	Charlton L. Allen	REP
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR 113	RICT	
JAKE JOHNSON	Jake Johnson	REP
DAVID ROGERS	David Rogers	REP
NC HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES DISTR 117	RICT	
DENNIS JUSTICE	Dennis Justice	REP
CHELSEA WALSH	Chelsea Walsh	REP
JENNIFER BALKCOM	Jennifer Capps Balkcom	REP
NC DISTRICT COURT JUDGE DISTRICT 29 SEAT 05	B	
JASON HAYES	Jason R. Hayes	REP
DAVID HUDSON	Abe Hudson	REP
DISTRICT ATTORNEY DISTRICT 42		
MARY ANN HOLLOCKER	Mary Ann J. Hollocker	REP
RAYMOND MURRAY	Andrew Murray	REP
HENDERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DISTRICT 01		
JOHN EDNEY	J. Michael Edney	REP